F56S NM Power Module + JCW Tuning Kit P12A9 :( - North American Motoring

Go Back  North American Motoring > 3rd Generation MINIs > Modifications > Drivetrain (Cooper S)
F56S NM Power Module + JCW Tuning Kit P12A9 :( >

F56S NM Power Module + JCW Tuning Kit P12A9 :(

F56S NM Power Module + JCW Tuning Kit P12A9 :(

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 05-19-2018, 02:00 PM
mkt3000
mkt3000 is offline
2nd Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 124
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
F56S NM Power Module + JCW Tuning Kit P12A9 :(

Well, my car threw its first code today, P12A9. And with my luck, while I'm out of town. I'm about 300 miles from home on business travel. It's driving strong and feels fine.

The car's had an NM Power Module for about 20k miles, and JCW Tuning Kit for almost 40k miles - all without issue. It also has a K&N CAI, for about 20k miles as well without issue.

I'm not sure what to think about it. The only other factor I can think of is a change in weather - it's been pretty dry lately, but today has been pouring and I had to drive to several large puddles - but I can't see how that would affect anything.

For now my plan is to remove the power module and take it to the local dealer on Monday, and hope it's an easy fix.


Any suggestions or thoughts?
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2018, 03:41 PM
vetsvette's Avatar
vetsvette
vetsvette is offline
Moderator
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: South Central Virginia
Posts: 3,479
Thanked 279 Times in 226 Posts
I had the same setup as you for a couple of years too. Out of the blue I got a CEL, but it still drove and performed normally. Like you I removed the NM and took it in to the dealer. Turned out the NM had nothing to do with it. It was a sensor on the radiator that went bad, necessitating replacement of the whole radiator. I don't remember the code, but the symptoms are similar. I drove it for a couple of weeks like that before I had the chance to drive the 80 miles to my dealer, with no ill effects. YMMV
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vetsvette For This Useful Post:
mkt3000 (05-19-2018)
  #3  
Old 05-20-2018, 11:50 AM
TVPostSound
TVPostSound is offline
6th Gear
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Posts: 1,393
Thanked 111 Times in 102 Posts
Originally Posted by mkt3000 View Post
Well, my car threw its first code today, P12A9. And with my luck, while I'm out of town. I'm about 300 miles from home on business travel. It's driving strong and feels fine.

The car's had an NM Power Module for about 20k miles, and JCW Tuning Kit for almost 40k miles - all without issue. It also has a K&N CAI, for about 20k miles as well without issue.

I'm not sure what to think about it. The only other factor I can think of is a change in weather - it's been pretty dry lately, but today has been pouring and I had to drive to several large puddles - but I can't see how that would affect anything.

For now my plan is to remove the power module and take it to the local dealer on Monday, and hope it's an easy fix.


Any suggestions or thoughts?
P12A9 BMW Description During the control module's shutdown phase the diagnostic function monitors the barometric- pressure sensor, intake-manifold pressure sensor, and boost-pressure sensor to determine whether they are all measuring the same pressure. The ECM sets the OBDII code when the Boost Pressure Sensor is not to factory specifications.

Read more: https://www.autocodes.com/p12a9_bmw.html
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2018, 01:16 PM
charrigan's Avatar
charrigan
charrigan is offline
2nd Gear
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Are you running the NM module on the stock setting or did you turn it up?
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2018, 05:54 PM
mkt3000
mkt3000 is offline
2nd Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 124
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by charrigan View Post
Are you running the NM module on the stock setting or did you turn it up?
Stock.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2018, 05:54 PM
mkt3000
mkt3000 is offline
2nd Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 124
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Update. I pulled the power module yesterday, but the light remained on. Today, I drove about 30 miles, and halfway through it turned off.

I still have an appointment for tomorrow at the dealer, and plan on bringing my car in.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2018, 08:37 PM
phantasms's Avatar
phantasms
phantasms is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bedford, NY
Posts: 709
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
This is the same code I've been dealing with since last year when I put the DINAN Elite on. DINAN paid to change out my boost sensor but it's still coming back.

To the OP when I threw that code and brought it to the dealer the first time they said they had to reset the ECU as it's the only way to truly get rid of the code. Even if the light goes away, it's still in there. When they did that it was the only time my car performed as I expected it to. sigh
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2018, 06:31 AM
mkt3000
mkt3000 is offline
2nd Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 124
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Just got back from the dealer - "one time spike in boost". They reset my ECU and sent me on my way.

I'll reconnect the power module when I get back to Miami.
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2018, 06:38 AM
vetsvette's Avatar
vetsvette
vetsvette is offline
Moderator
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: South Central Virginia
Posts: 3,479
Thanked 279 Times in 226 Posts
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-26-2018, 10:54 AM
mkt3000
mkt3000 is offline
2nd Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 124
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Welp, after a month of being well behaved, the code came back today. I cleared it and now am waiting to see if it returns.
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-10-2018, 07:51 PM
mkt3000
mkt3000 is offline
2nd Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 124
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
And the weirdest thing - after driving around yesterday, the code went away on its own.
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-11-2018, 12:01 PM
Mini_Vinnie's Avatar
Mini_Vinnie
Mini_Vinnie is offline
Moderator
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,182
Thanked 142 Times in 124 Posts
That is a Subaru characteristic right there. The ECU probably self-adjusted and it was a soft code
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-11-2018, 07:11 PM
SFMCS's Avatar
SFMCS
SFMCS is offline
3rd Gear
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Rocky Mntn High Desert
Posts: 199
Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
My Nm did the same thing. Sent it in and they replaced the connectors. Got the code when I hit a bump going to end of an overpass. Check the connectors-maybe wrap them in tape. Went with JCW tune and have not replaced the NM. By the way, my SA (good guy) says that BMW knows that the code is usually the added box...
 

Last edited by SFMCS; 07-11-2018 at 07:12 PM. Reason: grammar
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-12-2018, 12:30 PM
mkt3000
mkt3000 is offline
2nd Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 124
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
So the code came and went yesterday. I dropped the car off to get new tires before I head up to Orlando today, and when I picked up the car, the code was there.

On the way home, I stopped at the post office, and when I got back in the car, the code was gone. It's been gone since.

I'll see what happens when I get up to Orlando. For now, I went ahead and wrapped the connectors (and also the MAF Sensor connectors, since one local miniac having the same issue has been told by her SA that it's due to the CAI) in electrical tape
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
phantasms
Drivetrain (Cooper S)
50
09-11-2018 12:05 PM
mct
F55/F56 :: Hatch Talk (2014+)
93
09-05-2016 05:09 PM
BadakVT
F55/F56 :: Hatch Talk (2014+)
1
12-04-2015 09:07 PM
Drivehard
Stock Problems/Issues
2
09-18-2014 12:49 PM
bmwbrandon
MINI Parts for Sale
7
03-08-2013 08:48 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: F56S NM Power Module + JCW Tuning Kit P12A9 :(


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: