Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

TCE/Wilwood 13" BBK Install

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2006, 08:29 PM
DrPhilGandini
My little dose of LITHIUM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
TCE/Wilwood 13" BBK Install

So, today was the day! Thanks to Todd at TCE, I had all the parts and his written (text only) installation guide. I must admit to being a visual kinda guy, so I read them about a zillion times before concluding that it would probably all make sense once I was there...
Apart from inserting a heated metal shard in my right eye (yes, I was wearing glasses--not plastic) during the grinding process, I will report it all went well. 8 hours for a complete novice to do this, with time off for lunch and a few unforseen issues, including the obligatory drive around the block a hundred times to make sure the brakes were installed properly!
I will post a detailed set of notes on the install on my website next week, including photos of critical issues that are not covered by Todd--probably due to my car being a 2005 and some things have changed I suppose.
So far I seem to have good brakes, and massive bling--they sure do fill 17" rims really well.
Time will tell how the track/road compromise works out. I anticipate more brake dust, and some squealing, and a little vibration as they are totally fixed rotors--no float at all.
There certainly were issues with the install--I had a lot of "learning by doing (it wrong)" which might have been helped with photos on the How To. I will post some photos for those who intend to do this themselves after me. The rear extend kit certainly had a glaring omission in the instructions which must be related to the 05 and later calipers since Todd would have figured this one out in about a nanosecond! The rotors wont turn without grinding away a tab on the OEM caliper mount.