Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

HELP No power to fuel pump 2011 r56 s coupe

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2019, 03:09 PM
DrakeB
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP No power to fuel pump 2011 r56 s coupe

Hi guys, I am new to mini, I build Jeeps for extreme offroad, however I got a fun little 2011 S coupe (N18 motor), and got the half engine power light. the car went to half power and limped home. The next day car ran fine, then car died, no codes or check engine light. car just cranked and sputtered, but never ran. It has 90k on ticker, so I First Replaced coil packs, plugs, no change, car would not start. Replaced High pressure and in tank pump(I'm the type of guy that if one is bad, the second will soon follow. I replace both). After pumps were replaced, Car cranks, it has spark, still no start. Disconnected fuel(HP) line to see if fuel is making its way to motor. no fuel coming. Pulled the electrical plug on the in-tank fuel pump. test light and meter detects no power.(key on and start button pushed, but not cranking). pulled the fuel pump relay,(4 pin) tested it with meter, good readings, applied power, it clicks ect. Tested the socket where the fuel pump relay plugs in. I have 12+ voltage at two prongs. The fuse is good, tested it, it has power. So somewhere im not getting power from relay to pump, wires are all good, no observed shorts. any Ideas? relay under hood?

Old 01-26-2019, 04:31 PM
AZdsrt
6th Gear
Received 57 Likes on 53 Posts
If it went into limp mode, am pretty sure you have a code stored. Without it, could be a zillion different things. Chances are it's a BMW specific code that will have to be read by a dealer or independent that has the right tools.

Old 01-27-2019, 10:54 AM
DrakeB
Neutral