1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New member from NorCal R56

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2019, 09:21 AM
Mad Dog Tannen
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
New member from NorCal R56

Hello fellow members,
I’m new to Mini’s and this forum. I have had many different cars and motorcycles, but the R56 Mini I bought a couple of weeks ago is my first German car. I bought If for the gas mileage and the go-cart handling. My Dodge Ram was getting about 17mpg average, so I traded it up. I just hope the Mini doesn’t have typical BMW reliability issues, because I don’t want to work in the tight engine compartment or pay for expensive German parts. she has 78k miles.

So far I’ve changed the oil, debadged the rear, put in stubby antenna.

I plan to get windows and panorama tinted with a brow, dechromewith vinyl wrap, do completed tune up, install roof rack.

Does the timing chain require preventative maintinenece on a R56?

Attached Thumbnails New member from NorCal R56-acedd52f-7f8d-4b99-96a8-4f0604610062.jpeg  
Old 07-06-2019, 05:51 PM
HTTP410
Neutral
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Looks great! I'm loving my F55. I've had it 3 weeks now and averaging 33.4MPG. I did get the M2 out today and it was exhilarating. I love them both.

The following users liked this post:
Mad Dog Tannen (07-07-2019)
Old 07-07-2019, 09:00 AM
ItsmeWayne
6th Gear - An Official NAM Greeter
Received 328 Likes on 309 Posts
Hi and welcome to NAM!
Congrats on moving to a Mini!
German cars all require pretty specific maintenance, so be prepare to take care of it!
The gen 2 area on the forum, has many tips and tricks to keep your Go=kart running well!
Also check out the stock problems in that same area.
Two very important things: #1 Make sure to only use 100% synthetic motor oil, #2 Make sure to only use high octane fuel

Old 07-07-2019, 01:50 PM
HTTP410
Neutral