Electrical For discussions regarding wiring up electrical modifications such as radar detectors, brake light mods, power sockets, and driving lights in Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Electrical Radiator Cooling Fan

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2013, 03:11 PM
khor1287
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Radiator Cooling Fan

Im having some intermittent trouble with my cooling fan. Twice now ive had the problem of it staying on after my car is off (no its not over heating and no im not low on coolant and yes it works fine stage1/stage2 after it fixes its self) Both times it would stay on until i unplugged it but then about a day later it would go back to working properly. Ive read just about everything i could find about that resistor problem but if mine was really burnt out it wouldn't fix its self or would it? I guess it could be and intermittent fault in the resistor but that seems unlikely to me and since i have no experience with electritioning i feel know what im talking about..... It seems more likely that the fault lies with the thermostat/switch/solenoid or what ever tells the fan to turn on/off.

I know i can get a new resistor for about $50 and a entire new fan for around $150. However, i dont really want to tear the front half of my car apart or go cutting and soldering stuff....cause im lazy. So im looking for a easier/cheaper fix.

Can w/e this controlling device is stick or is it most certainly the resistor? Can anyone shed a bit more light on what this might be (and it better be cheap!)?

Any help/tips are much appreciated!

Thanks!

Old 09-21-2013, 04:45 PM
minsanity
6th Gear
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts