Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Have Big Brakes- Need installer or advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2005, 08:17 PM
red rage
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Have Big Brakes- Need installer or advice

Hi,

I purchased a Wilwood Front Big Brake Kit with SS lines and I am NOT a mechanic by any stretch. I have no helpers...

I will likely have it installed at a tire/brake shop locally ?

Should I look for a specialty mechanic or just anyone who works on brakes?

How long will that take, install, bleed, fit, etc... ?

Wish me luck

Phil

Old 02-20-2005, 08:25 PM
JeffS
5th Gear
Any competent mechanic can do it. I'm not sure if just any shop would want to do it though? liability issues or whatnot.

If it takes more than an hour something's wrong.

Old 02-21-2005, 06:33 AM
red rage
4th Gear
Thanks Jeff, I will call around

Old 02-22-2005, 03:07 PM
red rage
4th Gear
NOT GOOD NEWS ...

One place said 6 hours labor, never done em, BMW-MINI says "never done them", won't do them

A place that does do them, says it will take a "couple days"

DOESN'T ANYONE KNOW HOW TO INSTALL THESE THINGS IN A TIMELY FASHION?!!

Old 02-22-2005, 03:16 PM
minihune
OVERDRIVE - Racing Champion
Received 67 Likes on 65 Posts
Want to drive up to Philly? Helix13 can do the install pretty quickly.
Give Eric a call (1-877-HELIX13) and ask him for an estimate. Get other upgrades while you are there.

If you want to stay local then call around for a brake and alignment specialty shop. Figure about 4+ hours or so for people that know what they are doing.

The brakes are easy to install but the lines take a bit longer to remove and install and flush and fill new brake fluid. You might want to upgrade brake fluid at this time to ATE super blue or similar which has a higher wet and dry boiling point than stock fluid.