Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Where is the auto tranny dip stick?

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2005, 12:32 AM
MiniKJ
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Where is the auto tranny dip stick?

Hello. I am very new to the MCS as just took delivery a week ago. I can't seem to find the dip stick for the auto transmission, nor does it mention in the owner manual. Is it maintenance free until scheduled maint? This is the first time I have seen an auto tranny without dip stick. Thanks for helping?

Old 12-18-2005, 12:40 AM
Slowride11
2nd Gear
actually looking at it i don't think there is an auto dipstick.. only stick i see is for the engine oil... i'll check the haynes guide to see where the tranny fluid is located... btw welcome to the MCSa club.. are you going to add anything to it?

Old 12-18-2005, 12:59 AM
Slowride11
2nd Gear
hmmm... the guide doesn't have autos in it ... cant find an auto tranny reserve either in the engine compartment... in the stick version the clutch and brake fluid are in the same container.. i'm pretty sure thats not the case in the auto.. guess it is maintenance free during the period..

Old 12-19-2005, 05:54 AM
caminifan
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Slowride11
hmmm... the guide doesn't have autos in it ... cant find an auto tranny reserve either in the engine compartment... in the stick version the clutch and brake fluid are in the same container.. i'm pretty sure thats not the case in the auto.. guess it is maintenance free during the period..