R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Can't decide whether to buy a Mini!

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2007, 02:33 PM
MalteseFalcn
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Can't decide whether to buy a Mini!

Howdy all... I'm a newbie here just looking for some opinions! I test drove a mini for the 1st time ever last night, and thought it was a lot of fun. Am going back after the weekend to re-test drive and then perhaps place my order.

I'm just conflicted because I've never owned such a small car, and am apprehensive about it. I currently own a very functional, small SUV with plenty of ground clearance, cargo room and seating capacity. So I guess my question for the Mini-folk out there is how often you feel hampered by owning one of these. Do you often find that you can't bring stuff home from the hardware store or grocery using the Mini? Do you have trouble in winter weather because of the light weight and low ground clearance? Is it true that bugs hitting the car will chip away my bonnet stripes? Is the car comfortable for longer distance driving?

I appreciate the input, I value the opinions of people who drive a Mini every day... thanks!

Old 03-16-2007, 03:22 PM
mfpolk
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
owning a mini is all about fun. i really have not had a problem since buying mine a little over 8 months ago. snow has not been a problem unless its deep, and then its a problem for everyone. the winter handling is fine. front seat space is fine but riding in the back is limited. i never ride in the back -- so i could care less. i will tell you that i have never had a car that is genuinely more fun to drive-- owning a mini is all about fun, fun, fun.

Old 03-16-2007, 03:27 PM
tdm156
Ruling the curves