R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Advice for budget DIY brake & rotors replacements

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2015, 04:33 PM
thebordella
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice for budget DIY brake & rotors replacements

Hi,

2010 R56 hardtop, basic edition. Front pads getting low, rear not far behind, thinking of performing my own replacement of pads and rotors for all four wheels. Primarily to save money but also for experience. I am not a diy expert when it comes to cars but I have done a few diy jobs on other vehicles - including a full brake and rotor install on a Honda CRV. So I am familiar with the process.

I watched some Youtube videos for doing this job on a Mini just to see if there are significant deviations from the work I did on the Honda. The process seems nearly identical - the only difference really is the presence of the Mini's pad thickness sensor, which doesn't seem like a difficult wrinkle.

So, a few questions for the experts here:

1. Recommendations for pads and rotors. I have researched some past threads on this and I've seen recommendations for EBC GreenStuff and/or RedStuff and Centric 125 rotors. But are these "overkill" for a car that is basically an urban daily driver and never driven in "performance" conditions? Are the Bosch QuietCast products a big step down? Essentially I'm trying to balance budget with daily driver (non-)performance needs.

2. I have a floor jack and two jack stands that were sized to do this work on my CRV, so clearly they should support the Mini with ease. What is the best configuration to support the Mini on jack stands while working on each wheel? Opposite sides, same side, side and front?

Thanks for any and all thoughts!

Old 08-16-2015, 05:40 PM
WayMotorWorks
Vendor
Received 757 Likes on 618 Posts
Don't get the cheapest around as you will not be happy with the performance.