R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Broke the clips on my Scoop, please help!!! Please!

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2009, 02:11 AM
Zhenya13
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Broke the clips on my Scoop, please help!!! Please!

Hey guys,

This will be a bit long, but hopefully at the very least some people will get a laugh so please read through this.

Let me start by saying that I am extremely challenged when it comes to doing anything that requires any kind of manual skill. To put it in a simple way, my arms grow out of my $%&. That said I always try to do things myself (in part because I'm a broke student, in part because I really do want to learn and then be able to say I did it), and it always ends up in a disaster. Some examples would be trying to change plumbing in my mom's apartment and flooding the neighbors bellow , trying to install ceramic tile in the kitchen by myself resulted in an SUV obstacle course similar to the one my local Land Rover dealer has and many more.

So my latest and greatest involves my mini and my newly acquired JCW Scoop

I purchased the scoop this week from a fellow NAMer thought the market place here on the site and against my better judgement decided to install it myself. After all how hard can it be right?
BTW the JCW scoop feels really light and flimsy compare to stock, but maybe its because it's so light.

So I search the forum and found this and similar threads. I mean all there is to it is take a screw out and then pull up.

Little did I know, that in my hands even something so simple would go wrong.
After I successfully took the screw out I yanked on the scoop and it would not let go. So I went back to the forum, rechecked the threads and they all say pull hard and don't worry. So I did.

The scoop came out but two of the clips stayed in the bonnet breaking the plastic part that holds them. (bottom left and bottom center on the picture)