R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Rattling Piece of crap

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2005, 04:26 PM
ToeKneeC67
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rattling Piece of crap

I know this post might upset people and for that, I'm sorry.
But my 2003 Mini Cooper - Fully loaded (including strips, rally lights and more) just rattles to death. I have a total of about 24,000 with tax into this thing. What I hate, is I wanted this car to last 5+ years. I'm only at 2.5. When I bought it, I told my wife....she honey this is the car that will last me.

I have only 38,000 miles on it.

It's been in the shop a few times and Mini Service by far is the best I've had. But every time I hit little bumps in the road, I hear everything. They have fixed it about 50% which is now almost tolerable. But what happens after my extended maintenance runs out.

Long story short, I LOVE this car. I smile every time I see it, I love to drive it. I’m a proud Mini owner as I have put more money into it. But the rattles are killing me.

I have some friends that have other sports cars and they tell me that all tight suspension will rattle. But my god, at this rate, I won’t even be able to hear the stereo by 60,000 miles.

I feel bad posting this because I have been so loyal but who else out there can’t stand it?

So I have a choice, trade in for a new 2006 Mini Cooper and take the loss now or get away from Mini and got for the Acura RSX (I know…I have never had a Japanese car).

Any feedback would be nice. Anyone else have this problem. MOST Importantly….can the rattles be fixed.

Old 08-04-2005, 04:41 PM
OmToast
OVERDRIVE
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm going to say...

No. The rattles can't and won't be fixed completely.

And I'll back that up with 2 case studies that others may also find upsetting: