R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Is The MINI a Sportscar?

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2004, 01:40 AM
CruzinChris
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is The MINI a Sportscar?

Is the MINI considered a Sports Car?

Allow me to introduce my self before we get this one kicked-off. I am a Miata owner and I am an editor of Miata Magazine - for the last 10 years. I have owned a few “sports cars” in the last couple of decades and note that even Sports Car Magazine will not “truly” define what a sports car is. With that in mind...

I currently own a ’04 MCS and I love it. But, can a Front Wheel Drive (FWD) car be a sports car? Can you name a FWD race car? Can a FWD be a true sports car? I know this car is a great performer in Autocross, but is it a really a sports car?

As Mike Myers would say in his role as Linda Richmond in Coffee Talk on Saturday Night Live... let’s discus....

Old 09-26-2004, 02:39 AM
The Dave
1st Gear
There is the Realtime Acura TSX competing in the Speed World Challenge.

Plenty of race FWD cars in SCCA too.

Old 09-26-2004, 03:19 AM
SCCA
3rd Gear
Is it a sports car?...uh...yeah it is and happens to be one of the best.Geez...

Old 09-26-2004, 03:21 AM
SCCA
3rd Gear
Of course it's a sports car and one of the best values on the planet. Since when does FWD mean it can't be considered a sports car and if it is not a sports car...what would it be?

Old 09-26-2004, 09:13 AM
SCoop
6th Gear
Anyone who's really driven one has absolutely no doubt that it is, indeed, a sports car. What anyone else thinks, who cares?

Old 09-26-2004, 09:18 AM
JoeDentist
4th Gear