R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 My First 5 Questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2008, 09:23 AM
Wolfe_13
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My First 5 Questions

Hello, I'm new to this and don't have a maintenance manual or an owners manual yet, so I'm looking for help here for the next little while.

1. How do you change the back up lights? Mine don't work and I quickly looked yesterday but not sure if the assembly just pops out from the outside or if I have to remove the shroud from below and go up through there.

2. Where can I get the bulb for the back up lights? Is it just a regular bulb that I can grab at Walmart or something?

3. I don't think my car has the computer thing that so many talk about (displaying the fuel mileage etc) mine only shows the outside temp. Is this something that can be programed at a Mini dealer and a button added somewhere or is this a big change that would cost $$$$$$$$$$$?

4. My speedometer only shows KMH, I see that a lot of the US cars have the standard MPH and KMH on their speedo. I would like to get the standard for Canadian cars with the large KMH and the small MPH on it, but can't seem to find it. People on SOMC are saying to just use a dry erase marker or stickers, but I would like the real deal, does anyone know if it is made?

5. I have a rattle somewhere in the dash, sounds like it is coming from the defroster area. Is this common? Does anyone know what it is and how to fix it or do I have to tear the dash apart to find it?

Thanks All.

Old 08-07-2008, 09:32 AM
hemiheaded18
Banned
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
1: The bulb housing is snapped in on the back side of the bumper cover. Get under the car and you'll see 2 white/grey tabs holding it in place. It is a PITA to pull out I think.
2: You're best off going to a parts store and having them look up the bulb. It's probably an oddball Euro bulb that Wally may not carry.