Navigation & Audio Audio upgrades, bluetooth, and navigation discussions surrounding the Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Navigation & Audio for those who've replaced their audio system...what did you pay?

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2007, 01:51 PM
tbonecopper
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
for those who've replaced their audio system...what did you pay?

I've been quoted from a few dealers well over 2000 dollars. It's about 1500 dollars for the hifi speakers and amp from the dealership. the hifi system, imo, sounds like rubbish.

anyone paid anything cheaper?

Old 11-14-2007, 02:27 PM
Robin Casady
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I assume you are not talking about DIY.

I've been hearing $2,500 and up for pro installed system. My DIM speaker replacement is into about $400 worth of speakers.

Old 11-14-2007, 02:28 PM
tbonecopper
2nd Gear
if i knew how to do it myself, I would but i'm not that technically inclined.

it doesn't make sense that it's so expensive to have this car done.

I could take one of the other cars we have, and it would likely be cheaper. I don't understand it. WHY is it so hard to change the stereo in this car?

Last edited by tbonecopper; 11-14-2007 at 03:26 PM.
Old 11-14-2007, 08:49 PM
Robin Casady
6th Gear
Well, for one, you have to do something like this to get at the rear speakers.

Old 11-14-2007, 09:02 PM
tbonecopper
2nd Gear
I was planning on either leaving them disconnected or crossed over to the new amp...

Robin do u have any pics with the door assemblies pulled apart, showing the wiring ... the wriring diagram would be nice.

thanks

Old 11-14-2007, 09:06 PM
pastabatman
4th Gear
look at the first sticky in this forum

Old 11-15-2007, 06:27 AM
pdoyle
2nd Gear