JCW Garage Interested in John Cooper Works (JCW) parts for your 1st Generation MINI? This is where JCW upgrades and accessories for the Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs are discussed.

Tuning Options: Bytetronik, RMW or others

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2012, 04:27 PM
nothingman
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tuning Options: Bytetronik, RMW or others

Hello,
I am planning on tuning my 06 JCW. I live in Toronto, Canada so my only real options are remote tunes and/or do-it-myself with Bytetronik. I'd like to have the option of having 4 maps that I can switch between on a wim (Fuel Saver, Aggressive Street, Race Pump Gas, Race E85). I plan on adding performance upgrades over time so the benefit of being able to tweak maps as I proceed with upgrades would be nice.

I'm interested highly in ByteTronik because they would give the option of at-will map changes and also it would teach me a lot about tuning, of which I am a beginner. I am hesitant on the ByteTronik option because being a beginner, I am not sure how easy it will be for me to learn to tune efficiently.

I am also interested in RMW just because I think Jan would make the best possible map but as I understand it would be ~300 for every different map and it wouldn't be as easy to have the 4 different maps to load.

I am interested in opinions and experience people (especially beginners) have had with ByteTronik and if anyone has any advice, I'd love to hear it.
Thanks

Old 10-08-2012, 04:54 PM
ACallahan
5th Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I would say you really need to get on the phone with each vendor and ask your questions. If you know nothing at all about tuning I would say you should lean more towards a RMW remote tune. I am not saying the ByteTronik would not be good for you but I know you are going to have a learning curve on it , some pick it up quicker than others from what I understand.

Old 10-09-2012, 05:10 PM
Bytetronik
Former Vendor
Received 83 Likes on 57 Posts