F55/F56/F57 Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for F55/F56 MINI Cooper AND Cooper S models.

Manual transmission 1st gear question.

Old 12-09-2017, 06:55 AM
C00per99
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Manual transmission 1st gear question.

I am hoping that some of you great people can advise me on if I am being incredibly nitpicking or if this is a legitimate issue. I have noticed in the last couple weeks I have noticed what I would consider to be a very minor shudder coming from the transmission right when the clutch pedal is about to be released into first gear. By this point the clutch is almost completely engaged and the car is moving. I would note that I do not remember this happening prior to a couple weeks ago.

i have driven manual transmissions over a decade so I am not a complete novice, but I may just be overthinking things. For background I own a 2014 Mini Cooper 1.5t manual with 27k. Thanks for any help and/or insight.

Old 12-09-2017, 07:12 AM
vetsvette
Received 450 Likes on 343 Posts
Has your car been check for incorrect main thrust bearings? It was originally the first couple of years of the B46, but I've read of some of the same issues and solutions concerning the B38. I got a new engine in my F56 because of this, some got new bearings.
Worth asking/checking about though.

Old 12-09-2017, 07:19 AM
C00per99
1st Gear
I would like to think it has since I bought it off the lot about two months ago, but I am unaware. I had been reading on that campaign and starting to wonder as well. My mini dealer is right down the road, but they have so far been less than helpful in diagnosing or really answering any questions. If they do the key scan, it should show up if it was part of the campaign, right?

Old 12-09-2017, 07:25 AM
vetsvette