Classic Mini Talk Interested in the Classic Mini? Discuss the Classic and its variants here!

Turning over issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2016, 06:18 AM
hoodie
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Turning over issues

Background:

1991 Rover Mini 1.3 Carb engine.
Was sitting for a year.
Recently did an oil change/oil filter.
tuned the carb (still need to do an overhaul on the carbs)
new HT leads.
new air filters.

So I've been having this issue where on cold starts, the car starts fine but if I pull over, turn off the engine, and try to start it back up, it has issues turning over and starting.

I have to wait approximately 15-30 minutes and for the engine to turn over.
I also will have to press the gas as I'm turning they key for it to turn over.

Anyone know what sort of issues this might be?
I'm pretty new to cars so this has been a headache (but still love my mini :D)

Thanks!

Old 05-06-2016, 06:57 AM
robertm978
Neutral
It sounds like your battery is good if it starts good first time for the day.

I had a similar problem, mine was that the terminals and cables at the starter solenoid were dirty. I turned the key on after driving a while, all the dash lights came on but no starter.

I was able to clean everything up and haven't had a problem since.

I have an 81 and the starter solenoid is attached to the right side of the engine bay wall where yours might at/on the starter motor.

Keep us posted.

Old 05-06-2016, 07:07 AM
clubgitmo
1st Gear
Just to verify, you're using "turn over" to mean engine rotation? So, when the engine is hot, the engine has trouble rotating when you turn the key? What are the symptoms: zero rotation, slow rotation, etc?

Sounds like a classic starter issue though.

Old 05-06-2016, 07:15 AM
Capt_bj
OVERDRIVE
Received 281 Likes on 237 Posts
concur that cleaning all the battery cable and ground connections is a good place to start