1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front License Plate dilemma

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2011, 03:58 PM
ChiliMiniNW
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Front License Plate dilemma

Hi All,

I live in a state(OR) that requires a front license plate. I just spent extra $ on my Cooper S to add exterior chrome on the bottom grill. (I'm a jewelry designer and the chrome is like jewelry for my MINI). If I get the no hole license it will cover that up. Anyone have problems with the regular front mounted license plate on the bumper?

Thanks, ChiliMiniNW

Old 06-01-2011, 06:22 PM
MP1.6T
4th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Get the plate mount that

goes into the front tow hook bolt if important.

Or do what most higher end Euro car enthusiast drivers often do in CA: go w/out anyway. Ticketing is rare here, especially if you don't park in metered areas or if the locality has a red light camera racket going on where they really want that front plate picture and may have the meter cops try to police it and get some more revenues too. Actually I haven't heard of anyone getting a ticket here during a regular traffic stop for it unless the car is obnoxiously modified like coffee can exhausts, dumb dark purple lights, dragging parts, etc. CA has no periodic vehicle inspection either except for smog.

Your choice though, and it is the law in many states. Most Oregon cars I see here--more than a few here probably illegally (and I don't condone either) to get the quasi unique no vehicle sales tax Oregon deal if you can last a year before registering in CA--do seem to have front plates, and many of them are later model and cost some $$.

Originally Posted by ChiliMiniNW
Hi All,