Navigation & Audio Bring your GPS and favorite CD or MP3. This is where navigation and audio options for the Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs are discussed.

Navigation & Audio Steps to getting where I need this system to be!

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2015, 08:55 AM
sleeperx
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Steps to getting where I need this system to be!

Hi guys, I am new to the Mini world, and super happy so far. I do have the H/K which to me is absolutely horrid. I cannot imagine having the standard and how awful that must be. I have a HUGE background in the 12volt industry and currently hold a directors position for a larger 12volt members group. All that being said, I am having fun being back in the bay for a little bit.

I have a crazy group of requirements for the audio/technology integration setup. Need good SQ (sound quality), decent bottom end and output but nothing too crazy, CANNOT take up any room, need to have navigation, internet, internet radio and the list goes on...

So, starting in the back, I replaced the H/K amp with a JL XD600/6. I built a small amp rack which mounted to the vehicle, painted black then mounted to amp to the rack. (sorry if I am being to layman to the 12volt guys out there, just want to be descriptive for everyone.)

If fits perfect when the rear panel is reinstalled. And the fact that all the adjustments are on the face of the amp, allows for easy adjustments while installed.

I did not take any pictures of the front stage, but currently running Diamond audio separates in the factory locations.