Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Suspension progressive springs + stock height

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2009, 07:17 PM
ponie5
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
progressive springs + stock height

hey i have been using h sport springs for the past 4 years; i have koni fsd's on my car as well. i have been plagued with many tire wear issues. i want to know if there are progressive springs i can use which will not lower my car... and does this seem like a reasonable solution to my woes?

Old 09-06-2009, 07:53 PM
Ryephile
OVERDRIVE
Received 29 Likes on 22 Posts
The springs have nothing to do with your tire wear. What you need is a competent alignment.

Old 09-07-2009, 10:05 AM
ponie5
1st Gear
springs vs alignment

hi ryefile,

thanks for responding. i have had numerous alignments, high tech lazer to regular, and they all seem to be an eventual problem. i finally had camber plates installed to try and deal with the issue of uneven tire wear. i am sorry now that i changed any of my suspension. to be clear, i really like the handling of the h-sport springs and the koni's were great but i have gone through so many sets of tires and every one has had severe uneven tire wear. i also have the h-sport rear anti-sway bar and ireland engineering rear control arms. is this mixing and matching a problem?

if you have some sound advice i would really appreciate it. thank you.
julia

Old 09-07-2009, 03:49 PM
AutoXCooper.com
Banned
Location: Car Nut Since 1987, Owner Since Fall 2005, Vendor Since Fall 2007
Ryephile is right and it "sounds" like you have the right parts. Few Q's. What camber plates are you running? Are you using Runflats? How many miles are you getting out of a set of tires? How many miles on the system? Do you rotate tires every 5K or less? If you weigh more than 200 pounds do you sit in the car for the alignment?