Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

Do I need a new engine?

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2019, 03:49 PM
Zommski
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Do I need a new engine?

Hi,

I have a 2010 Mini Cooper Clubman (chili red) with 175K on it! Over the past six months, I've invested about $3,500 into her (clutch, oil housing filter, battery, front brakes, 2nd thermostat housing unit). I just moved from California to Colorado so this past winter was pretty hard on her.

One issue is that the fan is running a lot/too long. I was told this can be fixed with software updates.

My major issue right now is the oil. The last mechanic told me it does have some very minor oil leaks. The oil pan gasket and front crank seal are seeping. The engine is making a noise over the past few weeks as well (when it's idling, it revs up and then settles down; not an even hum as before). Last check is that every 700 miles it's needing a quart. There is a smell coming from the exhaust due to the engine using oil, as well as the engine itself smells like something is burning. This mechanic is recommending a new used engine ($6K).

I just wanted to know if anyone out there had any suggestions, besides putting in a new used engine. Does it make sense to fix the issues on my existing engine and keep this Mini going for another year or so?

Thank you so much for any feedback,
Deb

Old 04-23-2019, 04:29 PM
cooper48
6th Gear
Received 550 Likes on 447 Posts