R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Tough Decision to make...need some assistance.

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2007, 10:03 PM
BernR6
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tough Decision to make...need some assistance.

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to this site and I'm new to the MINI, as I currently don't own one. I've been a Honda guy for many years, and I'm considering switching brands/cars/etc. and purchasing a MINI in the near future. My driving is basically day to day, point A to B stuff, but I'm definitely a performance nut having modified the hondas/acuras that I've had. I know there are some other threads on this, but I guess I'm trying to pick a car that 1. Has nice performance 2. Handles well 3. Has good reliability. Granted I'm coming from driving Hondas, although not the most performance oriented are known for their reliability. I guess what I want to know is, does the new R56 have too many bugs to be worked out that it's not worth getting until after a few years? I'm a fan of compact sporty cars and have narrowed my choices to two: The 2007 MINI S and the 2007 Civic Si. This is a MINI thread and all, but I just need some opinions on the reliability factor, and if it's worth risking coming from the Honda scene. Both cars seem to put out the same numbers performance-wise, however I believe with the MINI possibly being the better performer handling-wise. Both cars could be totally different animals for all I know. Money isn't a factor, only because both cars cost about the same, so I'm not going to be spending more adding a ton of options to it. That said, I'd appreciate any input I can get about this car and my current decision. As a side note, although not to sound hypocritical, I'm strongly considering leasing. I know I said that I like to modify my cars, but for the term of the lease I'm keeping it stock (getting married this summer and will have plenty of other bills to take car