R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 New R56 owner, some questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2015, 07:19 AM
GimmeBoost
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New R56 owner, some questions

My background is older BMWs, so bear with me. I just picked up a 2009 Justa a few days back. 118k, manual, sport seats, and cold weather package. The only real defect on purchase are the rear tires need replacing and it's missing the right front wiper hinge cover. So, questions:

175/65R15 seems to have crap selection for tires. I'm looking for wheels on CL currently, I might demote the stock 15" wheels to winter duty and put better tires on for the warmer months. What size wheel/tire is best for selection these days? I don't need track rubber, but quiet with predictable approachable limits is what I usually go for aside from basic stiction.

Related to that, the car has the "2VB TYRE PRESSURE INDICATOR" option. Does that mean it has actual TPMS sensors in the wheels or does it get info from the wheel speed sensors? I haven't been able find a definitive answer on this.

As I said, I need the right front wiper arm hinge cover. I found the part online, but it indicated that there was a hinge design change at some point. It didn't indicate when it changed or how to tell the difference. Do I have the early hinge or the later hinge? Who are your preferred vendors for parts?

The car didn't come with Bluetooth or phone prep. I'd like to add BT. Seems easy enough given that there's an Aux jack right there. I'm sure there's power nearby since the lighter's right there. Have forum members had better or worse luck with one solution or another? I'd primarily use it for listening to music and navigation prompts.

Sorry for the laundry list. If it's better to split up the questions just let me know and I will. Thanks for any info/assistance.

Old 11-07-2015, 04:35 PM
Slave to Felines
6th Gear