R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Highly potential buyer questions...

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2003, 10:29 PM
dMINIb
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i am a recent college graduate who is highly interested and will most likely purchase a MINI Cooper S. i have already been to universal city MINI a couple of weeks ago to test drive the car and it was a blast. it was such an experience test driving the car that i had forgotten all the things i wanted to ask the dealership (i.e. ordering, waiting, deposits, etc). so i went to the irvine mini dealership and asked them all the questions that i wanted to ask and i came up with a bunch of answers from them that i want to check with all you socal mini owners

when i asked them about waiting period for orders, they told me that it usually takes 12 weeks for orders to come in. is this pretty accurate for some of you socal people who've ordered from dealerships?

even though they were telling me these things i wanted to know they informed me that they weren't taking orders for a while since their list was full (???) and that MINI was only making 6000 Mini cooper Ss for this year. the dealer sounded like he knew his stuff but i was also thinking that he was psyching me out to hastily buy a mini from the lot.

... so IS it true that mini is making only 6000 cooper Ss this year? i also want to know if other dealers in socal are doing the same thing that irvine mini is doing in not letting people place orders?

and one more thing... i've heard from other posts that some people have gotten their MINI in irvine for msrp. i went there and all their minis had a 2500 mark-up. what gives?

any help and answers are appreciated. thanks a bunch!

I REALLY WANT TO GET A MCS!!!!

Old 03-16-2003, 10:38 PM
MiniBlue
1st Gear