R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 When and how did you get into tuning?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2005, 09:53 AM
Ranzo
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
When and how did you get into tuning?

Hi,

I'm 23 and I'm a newbie to Minis. Actually, to tell you the truth I'm a newbie to cars. Never really was big into cars because I was and still am into underground hip hop culture. I was more into Bboying and athletics. I thought nice cars were merely to show off bling and I really tried to prevent myself from being too materialistic. But then my girlfriend convinced me to buy my first car (2002 Mini Cooper) just 4 months ago and it's awesome! It has become my obsession and I just can't stop thinking about it! Cars are not just to show off after all, it can be fun too!!! I juggled with the idea of getting a new MCS JCW after I pay off my Mini but I don't think it would be the smartest financial move for me at this point. After looking at all the wicked modified Coopers on this site and realizing the practicality issue (Being in debt for another 3 years, gas prices sky rocketing, no intention to become a race car driver, etc.) I've learned to appreciate what I have. People still give me props and its just a stock Cooper so why should I complain?

My question to you experienced tuners... how can a guy like me get into modding my car's performance? I do read books and perform research on my vehicle but the lack of experience really makes me nervous about trying to tune my own every day driver.

What tools do I need to get started? What kind of mods I can try on my own and which ones I should leave to a professional?

My dream/plan...

Part 1: Next 2 to 3 Year...

ECU Upgrade
Cat Back Exhaust
Filter
Cold Air Intake
Plug Wires
Sway Bar
Performance Tires and Wheels
Brakes
Some cosmetic mods

Part 2... Maybe?!? Maybe not?!?

When I buy a Subaru and the Mini can be the recreation/project car...