R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 $500 R53 Endurance Racecar Build

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2018, 11:24 PM
angusp
2nd Gear
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
$500 R53 Endurance Racecar Build

Hi Everyone! I'm new to the Mini world but excited to be here!

I just picked up a 2005 Mini Cooper S for the bargain price of $500. I race in one of the $500 endurance series already and have been looking for a new car to prep/convert since my existing racecar is 100% track prepped and not street legal, which is a pain to store and move when living in the city. The plan for the MCS is to build it up and track prep it while keeping it street legal enough to drive to/from races. I have an almost $0 budget for performance parts, but an unlimited budget for safety items.

The 2005 MCS I picked up was listed on Craigslist as "no running", but all it needed was a fresh battery.
The Good: ~120k miles and regular oil changes, clean titled, no signs of accidents, no rust, new clutch 40k miles ago, good paint/body despite not being washed since 2007.
The Bad: Owner said the power steering pump is going out. He might be right, but the PS hoses are also leaking and it's empty on fluid. Windshield is toast (looks like a bear hit it). Interior is filthy+ratty and smells like the 8 different air fresheners it came with. Intake hose cracked and fixed with duct tape. Engine looks like it's leaking oil from at least the CPS and oil pan, maybe the rear main seal too.
The Interesting: External A piller trim covers and some plastic on the wiper arms look like they were melted?! Exhaust crackles and pops a lot under decel, I'm not sure if that's the stock sound? (Exhaust is all stock, 2 ***** intact).