Interior/Exterior Interior and exterior modifications for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Interior/Exterior How-To:rally lights controlled by rear fog toggle with MINI Circuit

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2004, 03:03 PM
npartist
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How-To:rally lights controlled by rear fog toggle with MINI Circuit

hey,
I just installed my custom MINI circuit (Seen here) that GBMINI made for me. It allows my unused rear fog toggle (I installed the european toggle panel a while back) to control my rally lights! I was so excited when I found out he could do it. It was super simple, no modifcation need to any parts, just unplug from stock switch and plug into MINI circuit.

Here is a short how-to:

First I followed GBMINI's instructions for installing the MINI circuit ( General Info and Install)

Then I had to figure out how to get the wire from the mini circuit to the factory switch (i am a student a Gatech, so I don't have a lot of resources but I found the perfect solution):

I used my shoe string (off the shoe I was wearing, ) as a "fisher" to pull the wire up the inside of the plastic housing around the radio, a/c, and toggle panel. I made sure the little prongs were protected from getting bent off:

This is it pulled up the inside of the housing:

This is how the stock wires attach to the stock switch:

Here are the (from top left, clockwise) stock wires, MINI circuit wires, stock switch:

This is the MINI cirucit wires hooked up to the stock wires:

Here is it all complete, no wires showing (you can see the MINI circuit throught the vents on the trim):

Here is a pic of the rear fog light (now rally light, for me ) toggle lit up (means when I turn my high beams on, rally lights come one, just like stock switch):

Here are my rally lights being activated by the MINI Circuit for the first time!: