General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

is extended warranty/maintenance worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2013, 02:06 AM
Alena
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
is extended warranty/maintenance worth it?

Hello everyone!

I am a total newbie here and just got my bright red MINI 2 days ago. Hardtop, automatic transmission and a sports package... fresh out of the oven...

have a burning question for those of you who have owned your MINIs for over 50K miles.

I put 20K miles per year without blinking, 25K with a bit of weekend trips... Los Angeles weather.... reasonable driver

The dealership is pushing the extended maintenance program, and extended warranty program... Are they worth it?

the warranty covers only major issues, like engine and transmission, electrical, etc... not the hoses or things that are expected to wear out... How have your MINI's been holding out after 50K?

How costly is the maintenance, after the 36K run out?

Also, there is an option of getting the exterior clear paint protector and the interior protection.... Does that stuff work? Would it really keep my little red beauty bright and sparkling longer?

So appreciate you wisdom,
Thank you

Old 01-19-2013, 06:13 AM
jcauseyfd
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My MINI did not need any repairs between 50,000 and 108,000 miles.

Maintenance would have covered a brake job and some oil changes if I had it. I was able to do the work for far less than the cost of the extended maintenance plan.

The odds are that the programs are not worth it - that is why they are sold, to make money on an aggregate basis.

Old 01-19-2013, 06:30 AM
Finner
3rd Gear