R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Please educate me about Turbo Hoses and Exhaust mods

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2015, 08:15 AM
GAT
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please educate me about Turbo Hoses and Exhaust mods

I've been modding cars for the past 15 years and fully understand brakes, suspension and some minor engine performance mods and their functionality. This is my first Turbo'd vehicle and would appreciate if anyone is willing to further educate me on a few items (performance mods). I've read the descriptions on different vendor sites but am more interested in the truth (as opposed to the sales pitch),whether they actually work and if the cost/performance ratio makes them worth purchasing. Ps, I have an 07 MCS 6-speed with an intake, BOV and Borla cat-back. My goal is obviously to increase performance without increasing my exhaust tone to sound obnoxious as it sounds perfect at the moment. Added turbo sound is always welcome.

The items I'm referring to include:

1) intake manifold spacer
2) forged intake hose
3) silicone turbo hoses
4) air charge pipe
5) discharge pipe
6) noise maker delete
7) downpipe, catless vs high flow cat

Again, I am a complete noob in this performance area and am not sure whether or not some of the items I listed contradict one another. I'm also strongly considering either the JB or NM Power Modules, not really looking for an ECS tune. Will adding the mentioned performance items further complement these power modules any further?

Thanks in advance

Last edited by GAT; 10-02-2015 at 05:24 AM.
Old 10-02-2015, 05:14 AM
fsrbullet
1st Gear
+1

I am right there with you! Would love to see what folks have to say on this thread!

Old 10-02-2015, 05:37 AM
Helix13mini
Former Vendor
Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts