Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R56) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain New clutch/flywheel

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2016, 03:38 PM
DickieRich423
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New clutch/flywheel

I have over 115k miles on my 2007 MCS. I purchased the car used with 90k mi on it. I am new to Mini maintenance.

I have recently started looking into a new clutch and flywheel kit for my car.

Upon looking for new assemblies I have stumbled on some kits that have a single mass flywheel. Are those supposed to be better than a dual flywheel?
If I get a new clutch will I need two new flywheels?

So far I have looked at Vaela, clutch masters and exedy (or however you spell that) for clutch kits.

Old 09-14-2016, 10:25 PM
GimmeBoost
2nd Gear
You don't buy two flywheels. It's either "dual mass" or "single mass". Dual mass is more complicated, but smoother. Single mass is preferred in performance situations, but avoid anything super light unless you really like slipping the clutch starting from a dead stop.

Old 09-15-2016, 01:50 PM
DickieRich423
Neutral
Originally Posted by GimmeBoost
You don't buy two flywheels. It's either "dual mass" or "single mass". Dual mass is more complicated, but smoother. Single mass is preferred in performance situations, but avoid anything super light unless you really like slipping the clutch starting from a dead stop.
Thanks man, that helps a little in my search. I already have to slip the clutch when trying to take off fast and it is annoying because I have always been used to dumping and going.

Do you have any brands you would recommend for a single mass?

Old 09-15-2016, 03:55 PM
CougarsRFun
2nd Gear
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by DickieRich423
Thanks man, that helps a little in my search. I already have to slip the clutch when trying to take off fast and it is annoying because I have always been used to dumping and going.