Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain 2005 MCS R53 Electric Water Pump / TPI Harmonic Balancer

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2022, 07:12 PM
Mich17
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hi there RM, Well finally I am getting somewhere have been trying to find someone that has installed a ewp 80 on a mini, thank you so much for your photos and great read on how to do this, as I'm no mechanic and far from it but when my little silver bullets pto **** itself and it was going to cost me a arm n leg. I thought that maybe I could fix it my self....... scary but exciting, then someone said maybe you could put a electric water pump in, in so i looked into it and brought a ewp 80 the same kit as your photo ...yay anyway I had know idea how I was going to do this and was pulling my hair out trying to find the how to do this, the what to seal off, what to put gasket seal on where to attach what to attach wires to. so have put acouple of photos up for you so you can see what I've done or not done, and would appreciate all your knowledge on all the steps i need to know please it would be greatly appreciated. once again thank you so much RM.
Michi

Old 03-09-2022, 10:30 PM
Mich17
1st Gear
thank you this helps heaps. question where do you think that the ewp is best put?

Old 03-10-2022, 09:51 PM
Raven Mocker
4th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Can’t believe how long ago I made this write up. It’s unfortunate my R53 is no longer alive. We did buy an R60 later and love it. My wife said she doesn’t trust me to “Not to” modify another R53 so I’ve been lying low on buying one although I do mention it from time to time. Ridding yourself of the gearing and water pump from the SC and installing an electric WP really is the best bang for the buck when adding power. My SC would wind up faster and not put that load on the engine. Man I miss my R53.