Detailing 101 Need to find out how to pamper your new MINI? Find out all the detailing secrets here.

Rust Proofing or Rust Module?

Old 12-29-2007, 05:43 AM
eleanor44
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rust Proofing or Rust Module?

hi there,

I hope this is the right place to post this- I've only had my Mini for four days so I'm still pretty new to all this. My question is about rust proofing. I have been reading about these electronic rust modules that send a charge through your car to prevent the formation of rust, and some testimonials sound positive, but I've also read that they're a hoax and yearly rustproofing is way more effective. I am in the middle of a Canadian winter and the roads are heavily salted already... I'd like to do something soon to protect my new baby! Is there anyone out there who lives where they salt the roads? What did you do and what would you recommend? Please help!

Old 12-29-2007, 06:34 AM
FP
5th Gear
eleanor44, I live in the Chicago area where the roads are heavily salted. I would rather do the rust proofing, but honestly I haven't done rust proofing since the late 70's, and have not had any rust issues on any of my cars. I think today's cars are made with better metal alloys that don't rust easily. I think the the best thing to do is keep the car clean, especially in the winter. I had an 87 Volvo that I drove for 15 years and put 250K miles on it. The car ran like new and looked new when I sold it. Not a spec of rust on it. I sold it just because I wanted a new car.

Old 12-29-2007, 06:44 AM
MC 2
5th Gear
I live in canada to and the best way is to put you car at sleep in winter but a few bobby of nive have use oil treatment and it work very good .. were in canada are you locaded..

Old 12-29-2007, 06:50 AM
eleanor44
1st Gear