4th Annual MINIs on the Dragon (2006) Ready to take your turn trying to tame the Dragon? Learn all about what will likely be one of the largest MINI gatherings in 2006.

I don't want to drive mine from Cali but can I rent a Mini there??

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2006, 10:08 AM
Minifly
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Mini doesn't want to drive there, is it possible to rent??

I know, stupid question time!! My 04 Indi Blue Mini said "no" (We live in California)! I'm not going to take you there! Now I have to moonlight in another Mini. Anybody know any dealers willing to rent a Mini for the Mini's on the dragon event? I can get to Knoxville for free, I'm a pilot but I need a ride, preferably a Mini S or even a convertible S. Please post or PM me with useful info, even if it's just a lead. Thanks in advance for any info!

Old 02-27-2006, 10:23 AM
mmatarella
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Nope

I don't know anywhere that rents MINI's. You can trailer it. Ship it. Or fly out, rent something generic to get there, and ask to ride shotgun with some of your 400 new friends in their MINI... You won't have ANY problem hitching rides. I don't know that you could pry someone out to let you drive their car though. It's a tight twisty road and most would be hesitant to hand off their car. I'd think...

I toyed with the idea of trailering my, since I have a 'tow vehicle' to save the 1600+ miles I'll do going and coming. I've run up more mileage motoring than I expected in my first year with it. But after pricing dollies and trailers, new, used and rentals... I decided it wash't cost effective for my case. Easier to drive it, then if I want that mileage back I'll just have to drive my truck mostly for 3 weeks to 'recover' those miles.

On top of which I would NOT want to tow a trailer down 129 getting there. Would have needed to drop the truck and trailer to the north somewhere safe and proceed with the car...

Good Luck in sorting things out,
Mark