R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 New owner, Brake idiot light, suspension loosening questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2014, 09:08 AM
drivemusicnow
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New owner, Brake idiot light, suspension loosening questions

Hi,

I'm new to the mini world and am trying to search to find my answers but haven't found what I'm looking for. I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

A) My girlfriend has an 09 MCS with about 33K miles on it.
B) The front pads seemed to be dusting a lot. In combination with this, the "BRAKE" light on the tach is on (In red), and upon startup the mini cooper on a lift is displayed(also in red) along with a wonderful charm.
I've checked brake fluid (wasn't low, but added more)
I've checked the brake lights (all three lights operate flawlessly)
The car recently had it's rear brakes replaced by a shop, but this light has come on several weeks after that occurred.
The front brakes were checked about 5 weeks ago, and were said to have 50% pad life left.

Any ideas on what this might be? My plan is to order some front pads (Perhaps stoptech streets or HPS) and replace the fronts anyway, but if this isn't going to solve the problem I'd like to know ahead of time.

C) The drivers side front suspension was replaced, and it appears that one of the suspension bolts is continually loosening, causing a clank upon starting in first gear. A shop had replaced the front axle boot because it was torn, and I had them take a look to diagnose, so I'm not sure what bolt it actually is. I'm thinking perhaps just loctite the bolts in place, but has anyone experienced this before? Any other suggestions?

D) Just got this car and I don't know anything about them. I called MINI with the VIN and they say there aren't any open recalls. Are there any preventative maintanence things I should be looking into? Any known issues that are solvable?