Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Quality of Kosei wheels...

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2005, 12:26 AM
markbradford
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Quality of Kosei wheels...

Alex (or others) -

How would you rate the quality of Kosei wheels?

I have lots of experience with OZ, SSR, BBS, etc. How does Kosei compare?

Also, how do you feel about the gramlights? I know they're made by Rays, so they should be well made, but there must be some difference from the Volks.

Thanks!

Old 06-22-2005, 06:41 AM
onasled
Banned
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I have two sets of the K1s, 17x7.5.

In a set of four wheels figure you really lucky if you get two that are real good. They have this cast outer rim that is not consistent from one wheel to the other, so the wheels look like they are outa round and wobbling. They aren’t, but what this does is throw the balance off enough that you have to add a ton of weights to balance some of them.

Strong wheels and somewhat light, but that lightness can be taken away when balancing them.

If I had more money to spend on wheels, I'd go for something else, but these K1s do make a very good track wheel and they are also about perfect size for the Mini. You will see the K1s all over the track in the Spec Miata class and also on many BMWs.
I'd still buy the K1s for the track myself and am looking for a used set now. Anyone?

Old 06-22-2005, 07:38 AM
red rage
4th Gear
I have the Kosei K1 TS wheels and bent one on a HUGE pothole ... Both sides of the Lip -inner and outer. I have to send it to RIMPROS to have it fixed

Light wheels can be "soft"

SLED ...

What tires do you recommend for my next track set, I currently run Bridg PP S03 215-40-17... They are a bit firm. I run a seperate wheel, everyday drivers on my Centerline wheels, P Zero Nero 215-45-17, much smoother, less harsh ride

Old 06-22-2005, 07:52 AM
Monkey_Boy
5th Gear
Originally Posted by markbradford