Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Downsize wheels?

Old 06-28-2018, 10:26 AM
minishusband
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Downsize wheels?

Newbie here.

Wife has an '07 S Coupe with Sport Suspension and Sport Package (17" wheels), all courtesy of the original owner. Neat car, but we don't autocross or do track days, and this thing can beat her to death on typical Philly-area roads. After nearly 4 years of balancing joy at the go-kart handling vs. teeth-rattling ride, she's had enough -- but we're not going to spend the money to revert to a standard S suspension setup at this point. I did a search and found a few relevant posts, but wanted to surface this since I do not believe any were directed at an '07.

So, a two part question:
1) Would a fitment of standard 16" wheels/tires be feasible? How about 15"? Looks like lots of room to fit brakes but would like confirmation...
2) Would there be a noticeable improvement in ride quality if the switch were made? I'm thinking 15" would have to be a noticeable improvement if the brakes on the S are not too big for that...

I exaggerate a bit about the harsh ride in that we both like firm vehicles -- but when her car is MUCH rougher than my Z51 Vette, well, perhaps it is time to soften up the Mini a bit!

Thanks in advance for advice...

Last edited by minishusband; 06-28-2018 at 10:40 AM.
Old 06-28-2018, 11:03 AM
MVPeters
5th Gear
Received 145 Likes on 122 Posts
Welcome!
This is just my limited experience with an '02 'S', your '07 may be a little different.
Check the tire pressures - 32psi seems about right.
Check the tires - run-flat tires are significantly harsher/less compliant.
All-season tires are fine for a daily driver - I doubt if you'd notice any change in handling - others will disagree!
I have 185 65 15 snows on OEM steel rims
& 205 45 17 on OEM (rather heavy) alloys.
The ride on the snows is significantly smoother by virtue of the 65% sidewalls.