Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Winter in the midwest

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2016, 09:39 PM
rdmello
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Winter in the midwest

I'm new to Mini and need help deciding if I should use all season or winter tires this winter. I have summers now, so purchasing another set is crucial. I have a set of 17" rims for winter.

Winters in central Illinois aren't severe. But when it snows, there's a good amount of snow drift. Roads around here are plowed, but not salted much. They can get icy. On the flip side, there are a lot of mild days at the begging and end of the winter.

I only drive a few miles to work. Stock suspension aside from polyurethane control arm bushings and a 19mm rear sway bar.

I'm worried about the short wheel base on the Mini. Is this a legitimate worry?

What tires would you get?

Old 08-15-2016, 11:23 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts
Winter tires make a big difference. Worth it to save an accident. Here we can skip chains if the tires are rated for that. But in truth we get so little snow that I tend to stay home if possible because it is the out of control SUV hitting me that is of most concern.

Old 08-16-2016, 05:37 AM
ECSTuning
Platinum Sponsor
Received 1,966 Likes on 1,766 Posts
+1 snow tires make a huge difference in the MINI, if you get them, a dedicated set of steel wheels it will save your summer wheels and make an easy swap to winter.

I had studded Pirelli winter carvers and for non studded blizzaks ws 60

Have MINI do you have ? gen 1 and gen 2 4x100 wheels

https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...now-tires.html

Gen 2 Countryman / Paceman here :

https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...ntryman-s.html

MINI Guru/ MINI Owner Since 2004 | NEW Lifetime Part Replacement | Local Pickup
Milltek | Genuine MINI | Forge Motorsport | NM Engineering | ECS Performance | M7 Speed