Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Suspension Just installed H-Sport Comp rear swaybar

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2005, 01:36 PM
eMINI
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just installed H-Sport Comp rear swaybar

Last night I swapped out the factory rear swaybar for the H-Sport Comp (hollow, 25mm, with three settings). As a mechanic, I'm notoriously slow, so the install took almost three hours But the midnight test drive was fantastic

Without degrading the ride quality, my MCS is now devoid of the understeer I had come to expect. Since I had the roads to myself, I just kept edging my entry speeds up, probing for the new higher limits. What I found was that the limits are now more than high enough for street use.

The car turns in so well and is so neutral through the middle of the corner. Gone is the feeling that the front tires are being overworked. Now I can just brush the brakes slightly, turn in and roll back into the throttle.

On a few occasions I thought I may have entered the turn too quickly. All it took was a tiny bit of lift throttle to plant the nose, and I was back in the gas runnin' on rails. Way too much fun

In the future, I think I'd like to add the H-Sport Comp front swaybar. I have the rear bar set in the middle setting. With an upgraded front bar, I could easily go to the firmest setting on the back. I think it would be a great combination.

If anyone out there has the stock springs/shocks with H-Sport Comp bars, please let me know. I'd like to pick your brain about it.

Old 06-30-2005, 01:49 PM
TWISTER
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Sounds like a great first ride!
I have the same setup and love it.
Do check out what Randy says about a front sway.
http://store.webbmotorsports.com/ind...in_page=page_3

Old 06-30-2005, 05:15 PM
eMINI
5th Gear
Twister -