Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Suspension guide on suspension?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2015, 07:36 AM
Empura
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
guide on suspension?

Hi guys I have been all thru the forums looking for an answer lol.

I'm a noob to this but I want to get my justa a better suspension system.

I don't know much about shocks, struts or coilovers and I am trying to figure out exactly what I need.

currently my ride seems very stiff and when I hit a pothole (my god) I feel like I just drove into a ditch.

I live in NYC so I am not sure that I want to lower it too much, but I wouldn't mind lowering it a tad bit. I just really don't know if I just need to buy the springs or if I need the struts as well. also what is a sway bar?

any other info u guys have would be great and highly appreciated. if there is already a thread to suspension you can just post it.

thank you guys.

Old 10-12-2015, 08:22 AM
gjxj
4th Gear
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
what tires are you running?

Old 10-12-2015, 09:15 AM
hsautocrosser
6th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Sway bars limit body roll when cornering briskly. It is a bar than runs from the left to the right suspension and connects to the frame to limit independent movement of the opposite sides. A larger rear bar is a popular MINI mod to help the car turn into a corner sharper.

Second the question on tires. If you have runflats then replacing those with non-runflats is your biggest bang for the buck in improving the ride. The size of your wheels will determine what choices you have in tires.

Koni FSD shocks are popular for improving ride. Coilovers and lowering springs are usually mods to improve handling and/or looks rather than ride.

Your year and model will determine what suspension mods are available to you.