Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

R53 Code: 0341

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2018, 07:57 AM
Oldboy Speedwell
6th Gear
Received 736 Likes on 521 Posts
R53 Code: 0341

I have a recurring 0341 code --- it only happens after spirited driving when driven up to redline.

2006 JCW with 105,000 miles.

Replaced t/c tensioner and it hadn't given the code again until just recently.

Valve cover gasket is on the to-do list and is scheduled next after doing the water pump this weekend.

When I pull the valve cover, will it be visually obvious if the timing chain is stretched and in need of replacement?
I will inspect the sprockets and see how they look of course too.

SLIGHT RANT TO VENT STEAM:
At the moment I'm feeling a little overwhelmed because I have a rather large to-do list. I'm a mediocre mechanic at best but I can get by, but it feels as if I've gotten myself into having to do a complete restoration pretty much --- there is a love/hate thing developing because I love the damn car but parts lifespan/fragility is quite annoying,
I sorta feel like this guy:
https://classicmotorsports.com/forum.../126273/page1/

I've driven the car 6,000 miles and I'm amazed with the driving dynamics, but slightly frustrated by the number of issues which need addressing --- I knew this going in, I knew I was getting a maintenance hog, and I do actually enjoy working on it to some degree, but my morale has slipped a bit as I find myself more and more spending my off-time up on jackstands instead of on the road and plus draining my wallet on expensive (but cheaply/poorly made) parts.

At this point I am committed though and I know in the long run I'll be rewarded.

Old 09-14-2018, 08:23 AM
Dannorth
1st Gear
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts