Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

Warning lights... Need help.

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2018, 05:38 PM
Songman
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Warning lights... Need help.

Can anyone help shed some light on these two warning lights? No pun intended?
The dealer says they are because someone installed some aftermarket lights in the car. I figure that if someone is making an aftermarket light, they surely make a resistor kit or something to make it work correctly, if needed. These warnings come on randomly, and are accompanied by a chime when they appear. The caution triangle, down by the odometer, stays on all the time.
I'm at a loss here, since I am new to Minis.

Old 05-24-2018, 03:38 AM
njaremka
Alliance Member
Received 1,714 Likes on 1,381 Posts
Walk around the car and check all the lights are working. Have any been replaced by LEDs? You can add resistors, but recoding would be a better option.

Old 05-24-2018, 05:28 AM
Songman
1st Gear
Yes, all of the lights are working. I just bought the car, so am not familiar with what has been done. When I took it back into the dealer to check it, their prognosis was that aftermarket lights were in it... presumably LEDs or something.When I bought it, the ad said it had Xenon headlights in it. Not sure if that was stock or whatever. It also does a strange thing when I turn the lights on. For about 5 seconds, all of the lights cycle like the lights on an ambulance. It's kinda cool, but I'm not sure if it's supposed to do it or not.

Is recoding something that the dealer does? Like programming the ECM?

Old 05-24-2018, 07:21 AM
njaremka
Alliance Member
Received 1,714 Likes on 1,381 Posts
Originally Posted by Songman