Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

2005 R50 Speedo resting position moves

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2018, 03:11 AM
Snapperduck
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 R50 Speedo resting position moves

Hey there,
im new to the Mini world and live in Australia. I have a little R50 hatch, 1.6 manual. It’s a great little car, loving it. Weird thing starting happening with the speedo though. When car is off and has been for a few minutes if you open door and then close it again the speedo seems to try and recalibrate itself and the resting position changes - usually goes up 5-7km. Do it a few times and the new resting position will go as high as 30km. Open the bonnet, then close it again and you can sometimes make it go back to zero again. Whatever the resting position is, the speedo works fine from that point - so weird!?! No engine or other fault lights on. Anyone have an experience like this before???

Old 04-13-2018, 04:50 AM
Whine not Walnuts
OVERDRIVE
Received 625 Likes on 554 Posts
You are talking about the needle on the big center dial or the LED readout on the small gauge on the steering wheel?

Old 04-13-2018, 04:54 AM
Snapperduck
1st Gear

Originally Posted by Whine not Walnuts
You are talking about the needle on the big center dial or the LED readout on the small gauge on the steering wheel?
Good question. It’s got the speedo and tachomabove steering wheel, oil pressure and temp, radiator temp and fuel gauge in the middle of the dash. It’s the needle on the speedo that changes

Old 04-13-2018, 04:58 AM
Whine not Walnuts
OVERDRIVE
Car is running or shut off?

Old 04-13-2018, 05:02 AM
Whine not Walnuts
OVERDRIVE
and a very nice looking Justa with some great options.

Old 04-13-2018, 09:43 AM
RB-MINI
6th Gear
Received 489 Likes on 408 Posts