Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

2009 MCS engine light P0303 (misfire)

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2014, 03:36 PM
AllisonMarie
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2009 MCS engine light P0303 (misfire)

Hi everyone, I read this forum all the time, although this is my first time posting, and thanks for all the help in the past

A few days ago my mini started acting up. I was on my way to work when the engine became louder than usual. I would describe it as sounding almost like a lawn mower. This sound seems to be present until I reach an rpm above 2500, wether I am in gear or not. I am experiencing some hesitation to go (especially noticeable in lower gears) and I can feel prominent vibration when I accelerate. When I am sitting still and in neutral, the car is shaking. The only code pulled (at autozone) was "P0303", a misfire in cylinder 3. I removed the spark plug to inspect it. It looks fine, but a little wet. (Note: I pulled the 3rd spark plug from the left. Also, mechanic cleaned out some carbon buildup in my exhaust about two months ago. I have had no issues up until this one.)

Any help and/or suggestions as to what I might check next is muuuuch appreciated.
Thank you,
Allison

Old 04-25-2014, 08:31 AM
Slave to Felines
6th Gear
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
The typical carbon buildup in these cars is in the intake. Is that what was done, or was it the exhaust that was cleaned?

The lawn-mower sound makes me think exhaust leak. If there was work done to the exhaust, it may have disturbed a joint or some such that is now leaking. Or maybe a compression leak, where the stuff inside the combustion chamber is leaking out.