Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

Gen Two Justa Cooling Fan

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2010, 04:21 PM
LessIzMo
1st Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Gen Two Justa Cooling Fan

As a noob here, I've been reading a lot of the threads about mechanical problems. Great, useful stuff, and sometimes scary.

I'm wondering if my second gen Justa has a cooling fan issue or not.

There appears to be no slow fan speed. If the fan runs, it's the noisy 'high' speed or nothing at all. Was MINI's solution for the troublesome resistor and slow-speed circuit in the first gen cars to just eliminate the slow speed circuit in gen two? There seem to be just two wires going to my fan, not three.

Relevant behavior:

- From a cold start, if the car is allowed to just idle, the fan seems to never come on, even after 20 minutes, in ambient temps around 70F. If I switch on the AC, the fan comes on within a few seconds (on 'high') and then shuts off if the AC is turned off.

- After normal driving in 70F weather, the fan will come on about a minute after the car is parked and the engine shut off. The fan runs for about a minute (again, on 'high') and then shuts off.

I figure the coolant around a temp sensor stops flowing when the engine's shut down, the coolant around the sensor then heats up a little, and that turns the fan on. Well enough, but should there be a slow fan speed like on the gen one MINI's? When the engine gets up to normal operating temp (at idle), should the fan be turning?

I'd like to know while I've still got warranty. It's an 09 MC.

The following users liked this post:
930 Engineering (03-13-2021)
Old 10-22-2010, 05:04 PM
Oxybluecoop
6th Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
There is no low speed fan on the R56 N12 engine. Just a high speed fan and it can come on anytime.

Old 10-22-2010, 05:27 PM
LessIzMo