R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Just got a new to me 07 s

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2017, 12:42 PM
Bman602
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just got a new to me 07 s

Well bit the bullet and bought an 07 s. Was a trade in at my local chev dealer. Used as a summer car and with only 41000 miles on it I believe it. Car is very clean and after a week of driving does not appear to be leaking anywhere. Oil level was good but as with any used car changed out the engine oil and will do rest of the fluids soon. Read up a ton on this and other forums, so your probably wonder why I still bought it. Well the car is a hoot to drive and gets great fuel economy and was the right price. I am motorcycle mechanic by trade and have a nice heated garage to work in. I am trying to get its service history from mini this week, to see what's been done and what hasn't. No rattle or codes at the moment but know a few things may need to be done soon. From what I have gathered the items needing repair or replacement often are the timing chain set, thermostat housing, water pump, vacuum pump, turbo oil lines, and oil filter housing gasket. I know the hpfp is still covered. I am also aware that carbon cleaning is needed for this engine. It is not my only vehicle, I also have a 2005 f250 crew cab that also has a infamous rep for reliability issues. If you think minis are cramped or expensive to work on, you should try a modern diesel truck. A lot of people wrote off the 6.0 engine as junk, however if you are patient and fix the issues you end up with reasonably reliable truck. I am hoping to do the same with the mini. I have to say that from what I have read so far that the two are similar in that if your not mechanically inclined it might be best to stay away. This seems like a great community and I hope I can add to it.
Ps just ordered the service manual today.

Old 03-21-2017, 11:22 AM
MiniToBe
6th Gear