R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Is this noise and behavior normal for MINI S?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2011, 03:04 PM
myskylab
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is this noise and behavior normal for MINI S?

Hi everyone! I am a newbie here as well as my Mini. :-)

I bought a 2011 MINI cooper S hardtop, automatic in chili red color a month ago, and now she ran 1000 miles or some more.
She is great and runs great, but I experience small strange things, so I'd like to ask some questions...
I did not experience these when I drove the other cars like Honda Civic, Volvo S40, Dodge Challenger etc, so I am not sure this is normal for Mini or I am doing something wrong or my MINI has some issues.

When I start MINI and drive slowly in low speed(10~15 miles/h) in a parking lot. Mini makes low noise, and the accelerator is not pushed/pressed smoothly as like something is blocked somewhere when I step on and press it. And this feeling and noise go on for a while when I drive in a low speed continuously, and at one point, Mini jumps a bit hard(like when there is a gear shift, but this feels much harder) and everything seems become normal after that.

2. This maybe a stupid question, but when I step off the break, the break pedal makes a noise when it goes back to its place. This is not much a problem, but I am wondering the others see the same or I am stepping it off too hard/fast.....

3. I am thinking to do an engine oil change at 1500 miles. As this is not covered by MINI service, I am thinking to do it from a local mechanic. If so, is there anything that I need to know and make sure with them?
By end of this month, local Mini dealership offers $70 for oil change/tire rotation(which I don't need), 32 points/tire/break inspection, and car wash. If so, I am wondering it is better to get the oil change from Mini?