R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Thinking about getting a new 2010 Cooper Hatch (base) 6 manual

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2010, 09:48 AM
julesagogo
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thinking about getting a new 2010 Cooper Hatch (base) 6 manual

I'm thinking seriously of buying this car and wanted to see what current owners have to say. I've been driving a beloved Honda for many years and have tested the Cooper among others on my short list (Honda Fit Sport slow, CR-Z auto only was slow, Kia Soul 2.0 eh, VW Golf GTI mmm, Volvo C30 untested, Lotus Elise will remain untested). I like it.

It's black with a white top and they'd add an offset racing stripe. I kayak and ride bikes so I looked at rack options - the OEM rack seems to give the best value (price/weight compared with Thule system).

Coming from the uber-reliable and fun-to-drive Honda del Sol, I'm really concerned about reliability and see a bunch of issues being posted here. So let me know what you think and what I should watch out for/ask at closing - don't hold back!

Thanks in advance.

Old 10-04-2010, 10:10 AM
hsautocrosser
6th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Make a list of the issues and note which ones are turbocharger related.

Old 10-04-2010, 10:19 AM
trwxxa
4th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Originally Posted by julesagogo
Coming from the uber-reliable and fun-to-drive Honda del Sol, I'm really concerned about reliability and see a bunch of issues being posted here.
If you go to forums for those other cars, you'll hear about every issue those owners have too. You'll also hear about how much people love their cars.

We've had 3 Coopers - a BRG/W 2006 (hers), an O2-Blue/W 2010 (also hers), and an all-black 2010 6-speed (mine). We've had no issues except on the '06, that had a tiny coolant leak (fixed under warranty).