R52 :: Cabrio Talk (2005-2008) Cooper and Cooper S convertible (R52) discussion.

R52 Distracted driver

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2017, 10:19 AM
HyTech
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Distracted driver

A clown texting crossed the centerline so, to avoid a headon with both of us doing 60, I left the road and he blithely went on his way while I was knocked out, awakening as I bounced through field of grass, down an embankment, through a small stream and coming to a stop on the other side. I fully support the Oregon legislature banning all cell phone use of any kind by a driver while driving, including at stops, and slapping a $2,000 fine on offenders.
Anyway, I used to store the Mini over the summers while I traveled (I'm a teacher) and I'd had mice eating wires on other cars. My solution was to take what I emptied from the cat litter box and distributed it under the car. I've had no mice issues since.

Old 05-13-2017, 10:54 AM
MIminiclubman
5th Gear
Received 62 Likes on 46 Posts
Glad you are ok. Most of them are so focused on their texting that they don't even realize what is going on around them. People driving in the fast lane of the interstate at 40MPH while texting are also a huge hazard.

Old 05-13-2017, 11:56 AM
Whine not Walnuts
OVERDRIVE
Received 625 Likes on 554 Posts
So you put the used cat liter under the car? Did the smell get into the car?

And, can you please explain how a distracted drive let to a discussion on cat liter and mice?

Old 05-13-2017, 01:31 PM
Fly'n Brick
6th Gear
Received 367 Likes on 311 Posts
Originally Posted by r53coop
And, can you please explain how a distracted drive let to a discussion on cat liter and mice?
I know a lady like that. I told her how much I enjoyed a piece of cake she had baked and got a 5 minute dissertation on something I never knew existed.

Old 05-13-2017, 04:11 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts