R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 High Mileage Mini... Bad investment?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2006, 12:41 PM
Spaz Chicken
1st Gear
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
High Mileage Mini... Bad investment?

Hey guys. I'm new to the Mini thing, so humor me.

I've looked all around my area for a decent used MINI Cooper S between $15-20k. There area a few, but the selection is quite sad.

Anyway, there is a local dealership with a nice Yellow one (one of my favorite colors) that I think I could get a decent price on, but the only problem is that it has 116,000 miles on it.

What I need to know is are MINI's reliable at high mileage? I know there are a lot of factors there (previous owners care, etc), but I'm just trying to get a general Idea about these cars. The car would be my daily driver and I would AutoX it 4-5 times a year.

Thanks in advance.

Old 09-14-2006, 12:46 PM
Gromit801
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Need some more info. Year? Options? etc.

Old 09-14-2006, 12:47 PM
clarkdr81
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
It depends on how much you are willing to spend on repairs. While it could be fine, I've noticed in my limited experience that once cars get to about 120-140k miles stuff starts going wrong. Sometimes it might be minor issues, but a lot of minor issues can add up in cost. I would recommend going as new and low mileage as you can afford unless you are perfectly willing to take the chance on repairs. Keep in mind though that a basic Cooper S isn't too high above $20k new, so you should be able to find something a little newer and more reliable in the $15-20k price range.

Old 09-14-2006, 07:06 PM
srfrman7
3rd Gear
How much can you get that yellow one for?

Old 09-14-2006, 07:09 PM
MINIclo
7th Gear Gal
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Gromit801
Need some more info. Year? Options? etc.