R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Quality Control Mini Cooper S; Where is it???

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2005, 06:37 AM
dlr218
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Quality Control Mini Cooper S; Where is it???

Yes I am a Newbie and yes I am a Perfectionist. I have had other BMW products and want to know what peoples thoughts are on BMW's quality control with regards to a new product leaving the factory.

I just picked up my 05 DS/White MCS. OK here are my complaints:
  1. Mini Cooper Emblems front and rear are not installed straight
  2. Gas Filler door is kinked to the right
  3. Both rear fenders seem to have what seems to be a light crease midway through the fender from when the metal is stamped
I have one other issue with the car, and not sure if this is a normal characteristic of the engine. Upon acceleration, or any increase in RPM's there is a noise that seems to be from the pulley. It kind of sounds like the noise you hear when a train goes by and the wheels squeak on the train tracks. Almost like metal on metal... Is this a normal sound???

Does anyone else have any of the above issues? Especially the creases in the rear 1/4 panels??

I would love to hear your thoughts and your stories as well...

Did I mention I am a perfectionist

Oh yes... One last thing.. Every time before I turn off the car, I turn off the A/C switch. From what I am to understand, when you get back into the car it should remember your last setting. Well when I turn on the key the A/C switch is on... On my M3 this did not happen. Any advice?

Thanks for the time!!!

Old 06-22-2005, 06:54 AM
mdsbrain
OVERDRIVE
Originally Posted by dlr218